as I walk

the journey to becoming me

pawing

Maybe it is just us, but, our cat is obsessed with the television. He’s constantly meowing and batting at it. We have a modest flat screen that we got this past Black Friday, I had a feeling that I should leave the protective film on the screen when I set it up. Jonah just loves to bat and paw at it. At first I thought maybe it was unusual and new for him and that he’d eventually acclimate. Then I wondered if maybe the volume bothered him (even though I keep it on a low volume and use closed captions when possible which is something I picked up from my sister’s viewing habits), but even on mute it bugs him. If the television is covered with a towel, he leaves it alone. Even when off he’ll go after it. I just don’t get it. I’ve actually questioned his cognitive abilities because of his actions.
I love my cat. I love him way more than television. It would just be nice to be able to turn it on once in a while without wondering if he’ll break it.

I wonder if that’s how God feels about us. God’s up there “I love that kid. This one I made is totally rad. Wait, what’s she doing? Why is she so flipping obsessed with that? It’s just the way someone was wired to love another person. Just stop! Stop it!  Don’t you see that it’s okay? Why are you still fighting this?”

Just a thought as I get up from the futon to chase him away from the television once again.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

