as I walk

the journey to becoming me

To my wife:

Well, we’ve made it through our first year. Our first of many. Our first of dozens. I wish I could say that it was all magical and beautiful, but the first few months delivered punch after kick after jab to us. You stuck by my side no matter how rough it got. You didn’t just stay by my side, but, you spoke life into me. You helped me. You loved me. You encouraged me. You promised time and again that you weren’t going to leave. I wouldn’t have made it through without you. I don’t know if I would have even tried.
Every day that I see you, I feel closer to you than the previous. Each day we speak, I feel more in love with you. When you smile at me, I feel lucky – luck in love, lucky to be alive, lucky to know you.
As we start this second year, I pray that I can be the wife I want to be for you. I want to be your confidante, your cheer leader, your best friend, your comic relief, and even the kick in your pants. I want to love you with a selfless love. I want to love you the way Jesus loves the Church.
I hope I don’t have to learn things the hard way. I want to glean from other successful and unsuccessful marriages. I don’t want to make mistakes with you, but I know that if I do, you’ll be gracious and we’ll work it out. Thank you.
I love you.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

