as I walk

the journey to becoming me

Jonah

I’ve had more Mondays off of school than I have had in class. Between Martin Luther King Jr. Day and bad weather, I’ve made it to one Monday class so far. This Monday, I will get to sleep in. I don’t know if I’ve ever been so grateful for being able to sleep past 6.
You see, Jonah, our wonderful sweet little kitten… the same one who doesn’t have a tail and has taken over my instagram account… that same Jonah… has been waking me up increasingly earlier on a daily (and now nightly) basis. This morning he started at 4. Four. He always starts with biting my feet because he knows I hate it. He knows that I can’t stand to sleep with my feet under the blanket, so they’re out there… vulnerable… ripe for his taking. I try to kick him away, but it only riles him up further. I eventually get enough motor skills to go under the hot blanket. Then he goes for my face. This morning he scratched just under my eye, then jumped onto my side table, knocked every single thing off, and grabbed a bottle of pills in his mouth and ran around… I’m pretty sure just to make extra noise. This morning due to how early it was and how unbelievable jerky he was… I locked him in the closet (relax the closet is bigger than some NY apartments). He found the loudest thing in there and started doing his cat thing… so loud that I still couldn’t go back to sleep. I got up and let him back out and though I didn’t want to set a precedent, I filled his bowl up with some dry food and went back into bed. He looked at the bowl, jumped back on me and decided he was going to bite my arms… until about 6 when I then put canned food in his dish. I miraculously fell asleep for about 30 minutes before my alarm went off to get ready for church.
Afterwards we went home and I tried to take a nap, but the bugger continued to do whatever he could to keep me awake. So I relented and decided to do homework. As soon as I started he fell asleep, but I got into a groove and decided to keep at the tasks at hand.
I love him. I really do. But I kind of… well… I’m wondering if he’s a sociopath.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Jonah

  1. Kathleen on said:

    You might enjoy a Netflix show we just finished My Cat From Hell. Not that Jonah is a cat from hell– no no! But the principles that the cat whisperer used were very interesting!

Leave a Reply

