as I walk

the journey to becoming me

going back forward

I’m going back to school.  I have an associate degree in something that I can no longer do as a career, nor do I want to do it as a career.  I want to get my masters of divinity.  So, I’m going back to school.  I’m going to finish up a bachelors at Northeastern (in the top 6 most affordable schools in the country.  COUNTRY.  Five miles away from my door).  Then go to Garrett out of Northwestern which is I think 2 miles from my door.
I love theology.  I read it for breakfast.  I cuddle up with it at night.  I mourn when I finish a book that challenges my thinking.  This is what is right for me.
I want to be a writer, a professor, a pastor.  I want to be used the way God intended.  Not abused by some jerk of a boss so he can sit on his ass while he has me work mine off and lie to customers.  I want to go down this path… as scary as it may seem.  I want to learn more, I want to learn to be teachable.  I want to learn to be open.  I want to be challenged.  I want to have random info in my back pocket at all times.  I want to be able to shepherd people.  I want to be able to explain things in writing on paper and on a chalk board.
I look down on my arm and see my tattoo that says forward in Korean and realize that it wasn’t just about propelling me to go to North Korea.  There is always a forward, sometimes it just takes awhile to realize what it is… but I figured out what my forward is for now… and I’m going there.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

