as I walk

the journey to becoming me

One

Today has been the first day that I’ve turned on my laptop in well over a month.  I typically just use my Kindle Fire for most things and I now have joined the decade and got a smart phone.  It’s pretty cool, not gonna lie.  So I use that too for a lot of random stuff.  It makes it feel like a hassle to take out the big laptop.  Especially when the wi-fi doesn’t work all the time on it.  Or the fan is kinda crapped out so it gets hot quickly.  Or the battery is so drained it must be plugged in at all times.  It doesn’t seem like an inviting machine to write with, and yet we’ve been through so much together, we’ve battled ideology, politics, doctrine, hatred, and inner demons together.

Kelly and I had our one year anniversary this past weekend.  For those keeping track, that’s one year of knowing each other.  That’s one year of being blessed.  That’s one year of learning what love can be.  That’s one year of learning what love isn’t.  That’s one year of learning that some semi-harsh words don’t have to lead any further and certainly don’t mean there’s a lack of love.  That’s one year of having someone’s hand to hold.  That’s one year of someone reaching out to hold mine.  That’s a year of stupid jokes that don’t make sense to anyone including us the next day.
Though it’s only been a year, it’s been the longest year of our lives.  Marriage, a medical leave for my acute sudden onset mental issues, back problems, and then that damned uterus issue.  It’s been challenging.  She has stood by me.   She carried my load as best she could.  She walked with me.  Every.  Single. Step.

This may be just our one year anniversary, but it is the first of a lifetime.
I love you Kelly.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “One

  1. Beautifully said! Congrats on your one year!

Leave a Reply

