as I walk

the journey to becoming me

stuck

I started writing last night.  It was to be beautiful – not just the words, but the subject and the way in which I was writing.  I had this feeling “this is going to be epic”.
I woke up still clutching my notebook and my pen in my neck.  I got about 2 legible sentences in, then it got a wee bit jumbled.  In the middle of the page I wrote (in the worst handwriting possible) “M ON AMBIEN.  this is starting toooooork”.  Several lines later I write my last with “lckea” and something that looks like saw teeth.
But trust me, it truly was going to be a masterpiece.  I’m not quite in that same groove now, but I’ll see what I can do to try to convey what I was feeling last night.

We were lying in bed unwinding after a 3 day weekend.  We spent the day at her folks’ home with her brother and dog.  I felt like I had driven 8 hours that day, it was only about 2 and a half total, but still, winding down was much-needed.  I kept glancing over at her and couldn’t stop smiling.  I  would drive 8 hours a day if it meant I could sleep next to her each night.  Her hair fallen down on the pillow, framing her face, put a lump in my throat.  At one moment after we shut the light off and decided it was time for bed, I laid perfectly still hoping she’d touch me in some way.  Her foot brushed mine and I experienced a subdued excitement because this will be happening as long as we both shall live.
I guess the point of this, is, we’re married and my brain sometimes can’t seem to hold in that excitement.    She’s stuck with me and my sappy weirdness.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

