as I walk

the journey to becoming me

holy crap

Well, here I am… Just a few days away from living out what was once only a dream.  I remember the day I first heard about this trip.  It struck me… it knocked the wind out of me and hit me with a deep sense of awe and longing.  I remember being told that it could happen and that I shouldn’t let finances stand in the way.  I kicked the idea of going around for awhile… and then I decided I would take that advice and do it.  So here I am 5 days away from going to North Korea.
I am amazed and humbled by the support I’ve received in this endeavor.  I’ve had to ask for help these past months more than I have in my life combined- but things have happened.  I’ve had so many generous donations.  Thank you.  Thank you.  I have people praying for me.  Thank you.  I had a co-worker give me his bike.  Thanks Poppi.  I’ve had people get pretty close to being in my face and telling me to get on my bike and ride.  Thank you Kati.
Saturday afternoon, I’ll be boarding a flight to China.  The way my itinerary worked out, I’ll have a day and a half in China before heading to North Korea.  It’ll be great to adjust to the time zone before the work of the trip begins.  Then on Monday (which is really Sunday evening) there will be a tour briefing (basically when they tell us what we’re allowed to do/bring/say) and then Tuesday morning (Monday afternoon) we fly to Pyongyang.  I can barely believe the words that I’m typing.  It will be 10 days of biking and sight seeing.  A tour like this has not been done before and I will have unprecedented access to local people and real North Korea.
I honestly don’t know what to expect from this trip.  I don’t know what I hope to gain or accomplish.  All I know is that I have to do this.  I know that this is part of what I was made to do.  Looking back on being in 4th grade I remember riding around for hours (in a circle around the cul-de-sac) and pretending that I was in a far away land.  I remember going to the gym years ago being on the bike there and visualizing biking in China or North Korea- that’s what got me through some hard core work outs.  So many pieces of my life have led up to this… which I’m sure will lead up to something else.
I still have a ton of laundry, packing, planning, and stressing out to do before Saturday, so I will end this update on this:  Seriously… thank you.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

