as I walk

the journey to becoming me

Spring

Sure, Spring hasn’t officially arrived yet, but come on… did you get to experience this weather today?  I was blessed enough to take Charlie dog on a walk during my lunch break.  I was wearing shorts and a short sleeved shirt.  It was quite delightful.  I have my sunroof tilted open to let in fresh air.  It’s all quite glorious.  The birds are chirping (which is a little irritating at 5am, but I can get over it), trees and flowers are budding, and yes, it’s getting light out longer (thank you daylight savings time).  It is Spring in my book.  

I have to admit though, I’ve never been a fan of Spring.  I’m not into flowers, or bugs, or heat… so Spring just never did it for me.  This year however, I’m seeing Spring in a whole new light, possibly because I’m going through my own Spring.  I’m emerging from a cold and barren season.  All of my senses tell me that season is in the past and that I’m moving towards something new.    New things are budding, things that I thought were dead are gaining life, and there’s hope.  After all, isn’t that what Spring really is- hope?  It’s not actually warm enough for shorts and flip flops, but we do it anyway because of the hope it gives us- that we won’t die in a blizzard.  Trees come back to life- hope for shade and fruit in the summer.  Easter is the quintessential Spring holiday- the resurrection of Jesus- if that doesn’t scream hope… nothing else will.  

So here’s to a season of hope, followed by a season of fruition.  

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

