as I walk

the journey to becoming me

A New Year

It’s a new year.  2011 has come.  This is not breaking news-  Almost everyone’s facebook status and twitter updates are about 2011.  I’m not the type to do New Year’s resolutions- I don’t stick to them so there’s not much of a point.  But I am willing to try new things this year.  The old adage remains that if you keep doing the same things, you’ll get the same results- or if you expect different results, then you’re going insane.  

So I’m starting off this new year with a different mindset, a different attitude, and a willingness to do things differently.  It’s not a resolution- I’m not making any kind of commitment to myself to keep this up, but I do owe it to myself to at least give it a shot.  I believe that the Lord has set me free from many things- and I don’t need to stay in those prison cells.  For my whole Christian life, I’ve put so many defenses up to keep me from falling into old habits, that it’s actually given more power to those things than they’ve ever deserved.  So I’m taking them back- responsibly.  Adam is helping me today with one of them.  If it turns out terribly, then I’ll know.  If not, then that’s even more freedom that God has given me.  Granted, with freedom comes responsibility (I think I’ve seen that on several Army campaigns).  But just because I have this freedom, doesn’t mean that I’ll use it- just that I don’t need to run away from the mentioning of it.  

So here’s to a new year, new freedoms, and to family who is willing to help you find that freedom.  

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

